Committees/Task Forces

WSRA's goals are accomplished through the work of statewide committees. WSRA members are encouraged to serve on one of the committees listed below.  To express your interest in serving on a committee, click here for the self nomination form.

If you have questions about self-nomination or committees in general, please contact the WSRA Committee Coordinator, Deb Zarling at dezar@new.rr.com.

2016-2017 COMMITTEES and TASK FORCES:

Click here to search the Committee Member Directory.

Advocacy Chair Mike Ford ford@uwosh.edu

PI 34 Chair Luann Dreifuerst ldreifuerst@wi.rr.com

Authors Festival Co-Chairs: Ginny Laurent  laurent7091@gmail.com and Sue Bradley gbradley@centurytel.net 
  • Awards & Honors

  • Children's Literature  The WSRA Children's Literature Committee members dedicate themselves to reading widely in order to evaluate the newest books published each year.  This is done to recommend the most interesting and valuable books for educators and children to read.  The committee considers titles published during the 15 months prior to the convention calendar year and evaluates books based on the quality of the literature, the appeal for students, and the value for classroom use.  The committee creates two lists to help educators select titles for use in their specific areas. The "Just One More Page" list highlights the committee's recommendations for the best of the newest chapter books through eighth grade, while "Picture This" highlights the recommendations for the best of the newest picture books.  The lists are revealed at the annual WSRA convention in February and can be found after the convention on the WSRA website.

Children's Literature Chair  Jillian Heise jch1226@gmail.com
Convention Planning Chair Deborah Cromer  cromer.reads@gmail.com
Early Childhood Literacy Co-Chairs Karen Kercher kercherk@rsdwi.org and JoEllen Lieck lieckjoe@rhinelander.k12.wi.us
Early Literacy Intervention Chair Mary Swan maryglswan911@gmail.com

Elementary Reading Co-Chairs Pam Welter weltpa@hamilton.k12.wi.us and Kelly Luedeke Pitzenluedeke@gmail.com

Task Force Co-Chairs Kathy Champeau  krchamp@aol.com and Deb Zarling dezar@new.rr.com
Families and Literacy Chair Amy Sippert sippertamy@gmail.com
High School Literacy Chair Patricia McIntyre  pmcintyre@west-bend.k12.wi.us
Intellectual Freedom Chair Aimee Jahns ajjahns22@gmail.com
International Partnership Chair Linda Lustig llustig9898@att.net
Legislative Chair Kathy Champeau krchamp@aol.com
Membership Chair Terri Dolloff tdolloff@charter.net
Middle Level Literacy Co-Chairs Rachel Quill rachelquill@gmail.com and Patty Sankey sankpa@hamilton.k12.wi.us
Nominations Chair, Past President Sue Boquist sueboquist@gmail.com
Preservice Teachers Chair Mary Lou Kaeppel  marylou_kaeppel@hotmail.com
Publications Chair Judy Hartl  wsraupdate@gmail.com
Reading and Technology Chair Keith Schroeder keitschr@gmail.com
Reading Specialist Chair Penny Antell neena.penny@gmail.com
Research Co-Chairs Amy Frederick amy.frederick@uwrf.edu and Krissy Lize kcmarver@gmail.com
Title I Chair Sue Madsen madsen@dodgeland.k12.wi.us